I have made an exciting discovery: I can knit and walk at the same time.

I don’t know what made me decide to try it, but I figured if I can knit standing up, I can probably do it while moving my feet. At the very least, it couldn’t hurt to try, because I walk to work, and that’s 20-25 minutes where I’m basically doing nothing with my hands. 40 minutes is a couple rounds’ worth of sock, or a whole hexipuff.

My walk is very easy, because it’s all either sidewalk or paved path. There’s a park that starts right next to my neighborhood and ends right next to my workplace, with a paved path all the way through. I leave work at 6 in the morning, so yesterday morning I decided to give it a shot, figuring if I was stumbling and bumbling all over the place trying to make my fine and gross motor skills to work in tandem, no one would be awake to see it anyway.

As it turns out, though, it’s not really hard, especially if you’re already accustomed to knitting while standing. It’s considerably easier doing stockinette, though – the instep of a Slant sock is more challenging than the sole, and there’s no way I could do the long stitch cable without stopping. But it would be the perfect opportunity to work on something small and simple, like a hexipuff (which I am again falling behind on), or a vanilla sock.

I don’t generally bother with plain socks, because I feel like the limited time I have to knit should be dedicated to making more challenging things. But I would feel okay with having a perpetual pair of plain socks going just for when I’m walking.

This is an exciting thing for me. Not just because I learned I could do something I thought I couldn’t do, but because it’s always nice when you can wrangle a little bit of time away from the demands of daily life, and use it to do something you love. It’s almost subversive.

 

