So, I was going to post some long, spittle-flecked screed about Black Friday, and the ceaseless encroachment of the Christmas shopping season onto the one damn day a year we’re supposed to be grateful and reflective.

Then I decided the energy would be better spent doing something productive, and rather than being pissed off about something I would never be able to change, I could instead find something to be happy about.

I do have a lot to be thankful for, and I realize that every day. However, what I want to do now is share something that made me smile: a post by Reddit user Poem_for_your_sprog, in an AskReddit thread titled “When was the first time you felt like an adult?”

I closed the door and turned away,
Then thought I’d likely left behind
A dozen things I’d need today…
Though nothing ever springs to mind.

I’d packed some clothes. I’d locked the door.
I’d checked the presents: wrapped and brought.
I’d cleaned the fridge and mopped the floor,
And thought, I think, of all I ought.

And yet, the thought persisted small –
Until I knew, with sombre smile,
I wasn’t going home at all…
But only visiting a while.

I know that feeling all too well.

I’m not usually a fan of novelty accounts, but I feel like this one deserves a bit of recognition.

