I’m teaching a friend to knit. That sentence is at least 2/3 ridiculous.

I’m not a teacher. Like, at all. There was a brief period when I was in elementary school that I had the fleeting thought that it would be neat, but I think that had more to do with the fact that I had an awesome fourth-grade teacher, and I didn’t realize that teaching required more than just cutting out snowmen and thinking of fun ways to remember state capitals.

I suck at teaching because I’m impatient and a perfectionist. It’s so hard to let someone fail without wanting to just take over and do it right myself. And, when it comes to knitting, I taught myself for the most part. I do understand that people have different styles of learning, but I’m also petulant and selfish and don’t want to take time out of what I’m making to explain, for the fourth time, how to cast on. Especially when *I* didn’t have to bother anyone else to learn it. (Helpful hint: there’s a whole Internet out there, people.)

The other crazy part is that I’m teaching a friend to knit.I’m  not the friendliest of people. I’ve accepted that, as an introvert, I’m not outgoing and prefer to spend time alone, and as a result, I don’t have a lot of friends. I’m also rather lazy, and maintaining a friendship takes work, especially when you tend not to stay in the same place for very long. I tend to be socially awkward and inappropriate as well, so even finding people who see eye-to-eye with me is difficult. You’d think that, given how hard it is to find other maladjusted people, I’d cherish and treasure the few I find who are on my wavelength. But that’s where the whole introversion thing kicks in.

So my friend Brittany has been wanting to learn how to knit, but the weird part is that she’s my friend, because I’m not a person who really has many friends. Anyway, she’s been trying to worm her way into my “bubble” for about as long as we’ve been working together. I’ve been resistant, not because I don’t like her, but I realize that one day we’re going to move on in our lives and not work together anymore, and it’s going to be a lot harder than showing her how to kfb, and getting drunk at each other’s houses.

