Here I’ve been all excited about the impending arrival of my digital scale so I can divide my skein of Paton’s Beehive Baby yarn into two sock-ready balls, when apparently, much more interesting things are afoot.

(I didn’t buy the scale just for that. I’ve also got some recycled-sweater stuff I’d really love to know the yardage on.)

Saturday, June 11, is apparently International Yarnbombing Day. (As much as an International Anything Day can be declared by one unknown.) I had no idea – I was just looking for a way to de-stash some frankly, ugly and unwearable yarn.

Thing is, with the big day less than a week away, I really ought to be knitting instead of tapping away here (which I’m doing instead of sleeping). My plan is to use Saturday as a kind of kickoff; I’ll do 2 or 3 minor pieces and then every so often I’ll do another one.

Currently my biggest issue is thinking of a cover story for when people ask me what I’m working on. I’m not sure how believable it would be to say I’m working on a garment or accessory (or anything I’d want to use, really) out of the ugly-ass Holiday Homespun I’m currently making into a trashbin cozy.

Note: This site has some very helpful how-tos.

