I have discovered a knack and a love for knitting socks toe-up using the Magic Loop method. It’s really one of those things you don’t think is worth the hype until you actually try it, and then you’re like, “how did I live before this?”

Because, you know, knitting is life.

In all seriousness, though, two-at-at-time is the way to go when you’re doing socks. Second Sock Syndrome is a terrible, debilitating disease faced by vulnerable knitters the world over, especially the more restless types like myself who like to have three or four projects going at once. This way, when I bind off, I’m bound off. For real. (It also makes it a lot easier to work on the socks while I’m at work, since it’s pretty self-contained)

I used the Heart to Heart pattern from Wendy Johnson’s Toe-Up Socks for Every Body. I wasn’t that crazy about the heart pattern in the book, or on my own socks, so I couldn’t really say with any certainty why I chose those to make specifically. Maybe because I didn’t like the yarn that much (Paton’s Kroy Socks in Glencheck). The fiber itself was fine and I’d probably buy it again, but I’m just not wild about the color. Plus, I had about half a dozen false starts so I was really anxious to just get the hell rid of it.

I think my next project will be more socks. This time, I’m going to go with a less-intricate pattern; I’m thinking Brainless. However, the yarn I want to use is one large ball, so I ordered a digital scale so I can divide it evenly. The scale isn’t scheduled to be delivered until Monday, so I may have to work on a hibernating project.

Unfortunately, all my hibernating projects are blankets.

Update: I think I figured out why I have a baseline “meh” towards these socks: way too much purl action. I guess I’m one of those knitually-regressive types who think the ugly bumpy purl stitches should stay on the inside of the fabric where they belong. Although it’s not like I didn’t know what I was getting into when I started knitting this.

Titular Inspiration

